top of page

Rock Salt and Nails

Rock Salt and Nails formed in 2008 when Keith, Priscilla and Jim joined forces to create music with a rich acoustic sound and solid vocals. Pulling inspiration from various directions, an eclectic group of influences can be heard in RSN original tunes and in the songs we cover.  Sharing the lead, each of the group's members headlines songs, adds a harmony, provides back up or takes the instrumental break.  An evening of RSN music is one of variety, team work and fun.

Priscilla Roggenkamp on the upright bass has written or co-written many songs in the band's catalog.  She lends easy vocal harmonies and a thumping bass that anchors the band’s sound.  She covers songs by artists such as Sarah Jarosz, Shawn Colvin, Bonnie Raitt and Ryan Adams.

Keith McMahon on lead guitar and mandolin brings a deep catalogue of folk songs from the likes of Utah Phillips, Greg Brown, John Hiatt and Norman Blake.  But each cover is his own, with vocal honesty that tells the tale.

RSN 2.jpg
RSN 3.jpg
RSN 1.jpg

Jim Dutter on rhythm guitar rounds out the trio with his love of bluegrass and singer song writers such as Johnny Cash, Steve Earle or Tom Waits. Jim has written and co-written many of the groups songs.  And he delivers them solidly and sweetly with his deep 'Cash' voice.

In 2019 RSN welcomed Jim Perone as a featured artist. Although trained as a classical clarinet player and music theorist, Jim Perone has loved American roots music since childhood. Jim P., as he's known, enjoys his role as a multi-instrumentalist with the band, chiming in on clarinet, dobro, cajon, and occasional vocals.


RSN's music is a blend of our well crafted sound, sweetened with the right songs from ballads to the blues and seasoned with laughter and friendship.  A combination that keeps folks coming back for more.

Donate directly to Rock Salt and Nails band

PayPal ButtonPayPal Button
bottom of page